Mount TBR Reading Challenge

Like many other book lovers, I have a bit of a tendency to collect books. Honestly, I always acquire books thinking I’ll definitely read them next, but somehow the pile grows, I find other stuff to read, and while I’m finishing one book I’ll somehow have gathered a few more, that will be added to the TBR (To Be Read) pile, which is rapidly becoming a TBR mountain.

So I identified with this post at My Readers Block (found via @BookElfLeeds at Leeds Book Club), and have been inspired to take on the Mount TBR Reading Challenge! Basically, this means that from 1 January 2012, I will only read books acquired prior to that date. You can pick a “level” for your personal challenge, as below:

Challenge Levels

Pike’s Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Vancouver: Read 25 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Ararat: Read 40 books from your TBR piles/s
Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 50 books from your TBR pile/s
El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Everest: Read 100+ books from your TBR pile/s

A quick glance at my LibraryThing shows that I’ve got just under 60 books marked as TBR, but I have already decided I will be making an exception for book club books, so I don’t know if I’ll do 50-60 TBR books in a year! I’ve decided to go for the Mt Ararat challenge instead – 40 books feels like a managable number.

I probably won’t post reviews for all of them, but I will keep this blog updated every so often throughout the year with my progress!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Bookish Hobbit

     /  December 9, 2011

    I’m doing Mt. Ararat too. I hope that I can stick to my guns and read all the books languishing on my shelves without buying too much to cancel out whatever I accomplish.

    Reply
  2. Welcome fellow mountain climber! I’m glad you’ll be joining us.

    Reply
  1. Fun with stats! My 2011 reading by numbers « Woodsiegirl Writes
  2. 2012 Reading Resolutions « Woodsiegirl Writes
  3. Marie Stopes and the Sexual Revolution: What makes a feminist icon? « Woodsiegirl Writes
  4. Reasons to be happy « Woodsiegirl Writes
  5. Book review: Even the Dogs, Jon McGregor « Woodsiegirl Writes
  6. Book review: The Wisdom of Whores, Elizabeth Pisani « Woodsiegirl Writes

Leave a Reply

  • RSS feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,908 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Posts

