2012 Reading Resolutions

Inspired by both Avid Reader and World Book Night, I’m writing some reading resolutions for 2012. Tad late I know, but better late than never!

For 2012 I solemnly resolve to:

1. Stop reading books I’m not enjoying

This means both being prepared to give up on books I’ve started but can’t get into, and stop starting books that I know I won’t enjoy, just because I think I ought to read them!

On a related note…

2. Stop apologising for my taste in books

Here’s a confession: I hated Pride and Prejudice. Reading it was like wading through treacle. I’m generally not a fan of the “classics” – could never get on with Dickens, either. Perhaps that means I’m an utter philistine, but you know what – that doesn’t matter. I’ll read what I like, and be proud of it, and stop worrying what people will think of me when they find out my tastes run more towards sci-fi/fantasy than classic literature!

3. Give away more books

To book swaps, to friends, to random strangers, to charity shops… Share the joy!

4. Stop acquiring books and read the ones I’ve got

I cannot pass a bookshop or charity shop that sells books without going in for a rummage. Every time I see a book that looks even remotely interesting, I must have it. Result: I have piles and piles of books at home, some of which I’ve had for several years, that I still haven’t got around to reading. I’ve kind of already got this resolution covered with the Mount TBR reading challenge.

5. Read more non-fiction

This is sort of related to the above. I’m terrible for picking up non-fiction titles that look interesting, taking them home, then leaving them languishing on the shelf in favour of more exciting-looking fiction. I think I’ll prioritise my poor, unread non-fiction shelf this year!

Anyone else got any reading resolutions for this year?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. My resolution is to read some books that challenge me more than the crime novels I have been reading in huge quantity

    Reply
  2. rumblestrutting

     /  January 17, 2012

    My Mum has invented the 12/12 challenge and is encouraging the children (and teachers) at her school to set themselves a challenge to be completed by 12/12/12 e.g. to ‘read 12 books recommended by their friends this year’
    She’ll be holding a celebration event on 12th Dec for all those that took part 🙂

    Reply
  3. Just read your 2012 Reading Resolutions blog and it struck a chord with me. (I know you kindly commented on my post on Romance versus the Booker Prize, so no surprise there!) I’ve never liked Dickens, although must say loved Jane Austen and the Brontes. I also have a whole top floor crammed with books, which I should start taking to charity shops to share the joy. Trouble is, I can’t bear to part with most of them! I do lend them to friends and family but tend to ask for them back – not sure what that says about me!!

    Reply
    • Nothing wrong with that at all! I would probably keep more books than I do if I had the space for them – not really an option in my tiny flat though!

      Reply
  1. Book review: The Wisdom of Whores, Elizabeth Pisani « Woodsiegirl Writes
  2. We’re blushing…Feel free to continue… | LeedsBookClub

Leave a Reply

