Good Omens for World Book Night 2012

Good Omens book coverHad some good news just before the weekend – I’ve been selected as a giver for this year’s World Book Night! Not only that, but I was also lucky enough to get my first choice of book to give away: Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens.

I am massively excited about this – even though I do feel a bit spoilt for getting picked as a giver two years running! Last year, I gave away Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin, one of my all-time favourite books. I feel enormously privileged to get the chance to give away yet another of my all-time favourite books! (yes, I am also starting to wonder just how many all-time favourite books I have… quite a lot I think. How many am I allowed?)

I first read Good Omens as a teenager, when I’d devoured all of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books and was looking for anything else he’d written. I hadn’t heard of this Neil Gaiman chap at the time, but having recently got quite into his books too I’d rather like to re-read Good Omens, just to see if I can guess which bits Gaiman wrote and which bits were Pratchett’s – I quite like doing that with co-written books!

I haven’t decided yet where I’m going to give my books away. Last year I went through various transport links, handing books out to commuters – which worked well in train stations, but less well in Manchester Airport where I managed to cause a minor security incident (I had called them in advance and been told it was fine but apparently my message didn’t get through! Was all sorted out quite quickly though, and I gave a few copies away to the security staff, so it was all good). I’d like to try something different this year. I’d really like to try and take some books to patients at my local hospital. That was actually my original plan last year, but I gave up on it in the end as I couldn’t get hold of anyone at the hospital to find out if they would allow me to do that, and where would be best to go. I will try to get in touch with them again this year – and if not, I’ll just have to think of something else to try!

Anyone else taking part in World Book Night this year? Where are you planning to give away your books?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

