Reasons to be happy

HappinessI’m having a bit of a crappy time of it at the moment. My grandma passed away last week, only a few weeks after my grandpa (her husband) died. It’s coming up on a year since we lost Mum too, and I’m finding myself dwelling more and more on her last hours. There are also various difficult things going on with the rest of my family and in my personal life, that I won’t bore anyone reading with the details of, but that are all just stacking up and making it increasingly difficult to actually see anything good in my life right now.

I don’t like feeling like this, and I don’t like wallowing in misery when actually, my life isn’t that bad. Yes, I’ve had some difficult things to deal with over the past year or so, but I am very aware that so many people have it so much worse. My moaning about my less-than-perfect life does feel a bit along the lines of “but my diamond shoes are too tight!” sometimes, and it makes me a bit cross with myself. So, I’ve decided to start doing what my mum always told me to do: make lists of the good things. I’m going to list all of the things that have made me smile in the preceding week, however small and for whatever reason. Hopefully this will force me to stop dwelling on the negative stuff.

This may or may not end up being a regular post on this blog – I guess I’ll see how long I’m feeling this crappy and feel like I need to list the good things to cheer myself up.

So, here are the things that made me happy this week:

1. Sunshine!

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but it’s been FRIKKIN’ GORGEOUS out this week, at least in my neck of the woods. Perfect weather for me: sunny, but not too hot. I don’t cope well with extremes*, weather-wise: I’m equally likely to complain bitterly about it being too cold or too hot. This week was neither: just sunny, and warm enough for pretty dresses, and generally lovely. Good times 🙂

2. Family!

Grandma’s funeral was yesterday, which went well (as well as funerals generally go, anyway). That made it a sad day, but the silver lining was that because I live much closer to my grandparents’ former home than any of the rest of my family, my dad and two of my sisters stayed over at mine yesterday. No words for how much I love having my family here. Just being able to spend an evening with several of the people I love the most made up for what was otherwise quite a crappy week.

3. Books!

Went into town today, and despite my pledge to stop buying new books until I’ve diminished my TBR pile somewhat, I couldn’t resist having a look around the charity shops and the used book stall at the market to see if there was anything worth picking up. I was glad I had: I managed to pick up copies of Northern Lights and The Amber Spyglass for ÂŁ1 each from the market – I’ve been wanting to get my own copies of those for ages, I had them years ago but they’re kind of shared, family copies so they live at home on my Mum’s old bookshelves. I just need to find a copy of The Subtle Knife now to complete the set! I also picked up almost-new copies of George RR Martin’s A Storm of Swords parts 1 and 2 from a charity shop. They’ve been on my reading list for a while: I borrowed the first two books in the Song of Ice and Fire series from a friend at the end of last year and absolutely loved them. Had been saving up Amazon vouchers to buy the next few in the series anyway, so now I’ve saved myself a bit!

4. The Hunger Games!

Went to see the Hunger Games on Tuesday with some lovely folks from the book club I go to. Loved it. So great to see a film of a book I loved that wasn’t a disappointment. I don’t think it’s as good as the book – films never are IMO – but it’s pretty close. The casting is absolutely spot on as well: I loved Katniss and Peeta, even though neither were exactly as I’d pictured them. Woody Harrelson is perfect as Haymitch, and Lenny Kravitz is beyond perfect as Cinna – I just wish he’d been in it a bit more! I loved Effie Trinket too – she was exactly as I’d pictured her. And the girl who plays Rue is just impossibly cute – she’s like a tiny angel. I defy anyone who has a heart not to be in floods of tears at *that* scene.

There. Quite a lot to smile about this week, actually. I feel in a better mood already 🙂

* “Extremes” in this case means anything deviating more than a few degrees from standard room temperature. Yes, I know, I’m a wuss.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Claire Lucas

     /  March 31, 2012

    Hi Laura – I can identify with this, I have to remind myself of the good stuff too. I made a pledge to post a “daily gratitude” on Facebook every day this year, and that has been a good discipline, even though it feels quite cheesy to do it. Just concentrating hard to think of something which has given me pleasure during the day is a good thing.

    Keep it up and I hope the year improves for you.

    PS what a great feeling when you find a book you’ve been looking for for ages, in a charity shop!!

    Reply
    • Oh, I like the idea of a “daily gratitude” Facebook post – although I don’t use Facebook, but maybe Twitter would do? I think I might stick to doing it weekly via the blog for now though – I do quite like the whole “looking back” aspect of it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RSS feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,908 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Posts

