When you’re smiling…

Are you Happy?Time for another “reasons to be happy” post! Here’s some things that have made me smile this week:

1. Fish babies!

One of the fish in our tank has had babies! There are now lots of tiny fish babies swimming about – hard to count as they’re tiny and fast, but we think there’s at least 9 of them. We were a bit worried they’d all get eaten – most of the other fish in the tank will eat fry, including the mother (a platy) – but so far we’ve not noticed a drop in numbers. We’ve got lots of plants in the tank, and they seem mostly to be hiding among the leaves, presumably to avoid being eaten. I guess that’s what they’d do in the wild. Not sure what we’re going to do when they get bigger, as there’s not really enough room in the tank for 9 extra platies – I guess we’ll probably need to take them back to the pet shop. But for now – teeny tiny surprisingly cute fish babies!

2. Snow!

Freak snowstorm on Monday night meant that we woke up to about 1-2 inches of snow, making everything white and pretty and magical. (Then I had to get up and go to work, and it was cold and wet and the wind was blowing the snow horizontally – but we’re focusing on the positive here. Snow=pretty!)

Also, I completely love that less than a week after writing that the warm, practically summer weather was making me happy, I’ve listed snow as a happiness-maker. Ah, British springtime. Never change!

3. Books!

I found out yesterday that one of my favourite books of all time, A Wrinkle in Time, had not one not two not three but FOUR sequels!! How this fact escaped my attention for so long, I have no idea. I must have read that book dozens of times as a child – I could practically recite it by heart. I re-read it last year and it’s lost none of its charm. I can’t really justify buying the extra four books just now, but I’ve added them to my wishlist and will be keeping an eagle eye out for cheap/second-hand copies.

Been a pretty good week really, all in all! Plus, I now have the long weekend to look forward to – and I will be spending it with my family, on a canal boat in Wiltshire. Bliss!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

