Books! Booze! Buns! My World Book Night

Books! Image courtesy of @becca_lou18Yesterday was the Best Day. Seriously, best day I’ve had in a long time. I don’t know how much of this impression was coloured by it coming straight after the sheer, unmitigated awfulness of last week, but still. Awesome day.

Yesterday was World Book Night, which I spent in the White Swan in Leeds, flinging copies of Good Omens at people in the company of some wonderful people I know from Leeds Book Club (including @leedsbookclub herself), and some other people who I’d never met before but who were instantly AWESOME. There were books, there was booze, and oh my gosh there were certainly buns as well (everyone baked. Everyone. I think we had more cakes than books).

In addition to the WBN books – which included, as well as Good Omens, copies of Player of Games, The Buns! (and some dubious advice...) Image courtesy of @Becca_Lou18Road, Misery, I Capture the Castle, The Time Traveller’s Wife, and Let the Right One In – there was also a book swap. Once people started arriving at the pub, it was so much fun watching it dawn on people that yes, we were really giving away all these books for free. Some people were baffled, some were delighted, and nearly all left with big grins and stacks of books.

I did manage to come away with a bit of a haul: I picked up WBN copies of Misery and Let the Right One In, plus a WBN title from last year, A Life Like Other People’s. From the book swap, I picked up Orham Pamuk’s Snow, and – this one I am most excited about – Point Horror: Twins.

Twins book cover. Oh! Point Horror!Point Horror! Oh, the nostalgia! I have @gazpachodragon to thank (profusely) for that particular treasure – she brought along a whole stack of Point Horrors to the book swap. Once I spotted them on the shelf, I started grabbing anyone nearby to point at them excitedly: “Look! There are Point Horrors! Loads of them!!” The reactions I got were a pretty even split between:

“ZOMG Point Horror??” *runs to grab handfuls*

and

*blank look* “Point… what? Is that a series or something?”

Now that I think about it, that was a pretty even gender split too… I suppose Point Horror was probably more of a teenage girl thing.

If I haven’t quite stressed this point enough: it was a brilliant night. The day had actually started amazingly well too, despite my sore back from lugging a bag full of 20 books and two tins of cake on the train with me (not a fun commute). When I got to work, a package arrived for me, containing a copy of A Wind in the Door, the second in Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quintet. I’d mentioned this on the blog and on Twitter before, having been very excited to find out that there were actually sequels to A Wrinkle in Time (one of my all-time favourites), made a mental note to keep an eye out for cheap second hand copies, and hadn’t really thought about it since. Turns out a good friend of mine had seen a cheap copy and just decided to buy it for me. Is that not the loveliest thing you’ve ever heard?

Today has actually been fairly meh in comparison, but I’m still in the best mood I’ve been in for ages. Never underestimate the power of books, booze and buns – and lovely people – to make everything better πŸ™‚

Photos from the night courtesy of @Becca_Lou18

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Those cakes look amazing! The books look quite interesting too. Glad you had a good day! I think Point Horror should make a comeback. Don’t know what today’s teenage girls, raised on Twilight, would make of them!

    Reply
    • The cakes were amazing – and that pic only shows a tiny selection of them! Mmmm…

      I can’t wait to re-read that Point Horror. May blog about it!

      Reply
  2. Oh, that Point Horror brought back a few memories – I remember that one (although not the story in it)! I read any Point book I could get my hands on – from any of the genres. I totally loved them! If I’d been there I would have certainly have been joining you to grab a few handfuls myself!

    Glad you had a great night πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I mainly stuck to Point Horror, although I do remember reading a Point Crime or two. Great stuff πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Oh, there was a Point Crime, too?! Now I feel like I missed out! I read a lot of Sci Fi and Fantasy ones and later a Romance one that a friend lent to me

  3. There were sci fi and fantasy ones?? Now I feel like I missed out too!

    Reply
  4. It was such a great night! I want one every month. I only got I Capture The Castle, but we’re trying to get rid of the book mountain in our house, so it was better to go away with less than I brought with me. I ate my books’ weight in cake though, wow.

    Px

    Reply
    • Ah yes, the book mountain, I know it well. My partner did give me a Look when he saw how many books I’d brought home!
      Hope you enjoy I Capture the Castle – it’s a lovely book!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

