Sunrise Walk

Team Mandio at the finish!I did it! On Saturday I hauled myself out of bed at 4.30am (a good five hours before I’d normally be awake on a Saturday!) and made my way to Cheltenham Racecourse to take part in the Winston’s Wish Sunrise Walk in memory of my big sister Mandi, alongside my partner Chris, my Dad, and some of Mandi’s good friends.

It was a beautiful day – both in terms of the weather and the atmosphere. It was more emotional than I’d expected, but in a good way. I found the whole thing really therapeutic. I’ve spent so long feeling hopeless since Mandi died, it was good to feel like I was doing something concrete and positive, both to honour her memory and to help provide some practical support to her boys, and many other children dealing with similar losses.

I’m thrilled to have raised a massive £910 for Winston’s Wish, and want to offer my heartfelt thanks to everyone who sponsored me. If there’s anyone else out there who wanted to sponsor me but hadn’t got around to it yet, my JustGiving page is still open.

The Sunrise Walk was such a special event to be part of: I’d highly recommend it for anyone who’s experienced this kind of loss. I’m already considering doing it again next year!

Sunrise

See the rest of my photos from the day on Flickr

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • RSS feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,908 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Posts

